--- title: "Un-Finalizing an Election" slug: "un-finalizing-election" updated: 2024-09-30T16:53:16Z published: 2024-09-30T16:53:16Z canonical: "help.simplyvoting.com/un-finalizing-election" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.simplyvoting.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Un-Finalizing an Election Can I make changes to an already finalized or active election? To protect the election's integrity, once **Finalized**, users cannot edit or change the ballot. If you find a mistake or need to alter the ballot after it has been finalized, you may still make those changes under specific circumstances, by un-finalizing the election. ## If no votes have been cast yet If no votes have been cast yet, whether the election is in **Waiting** mode or already **Active**, you may un-finalize it from the **Finalize** page by clicking on the **Un-Finalize** button and confirming. Once un-finalized, the election will return to **Draft** mode. Any email blasts that have not already been sent will be put on hold as long as the election remains in **Draft** mode. Once changes are applied, remember to **Finalize** the election again. If the original start time has passed, you will be asked to choose a new start time at least 1 minute in the future before being able to **Finalize** the election again. If an email blast had already been sent before you un-finalized, and you **did not replace the elector list**, you do not need to send a new email blast. The credentials already sent will allow electors to vote in the re-finalized election. ## If some votes have already been cast If one or more votes have already been cast, you will not be able to un-finalize the election. If you still need to make an important change, please [contact support](/v1/docs/contacting-support) to discuss any available options.